Attendance Contacts

Business & Leadership 

Ms. Cynthia Lares

619-560-4636 or 619-560-4610 x3036

International Studies

Ms. Vivian Perez

619-560-4635 or 619-560-4610 x3035

Science & Technology

Ms. Thelma Sanchez

619-560-4637 or 619-560-4610 x3037


Early releases (blue slip)

Please send a NOTE with your student stating the reason they are leaving, the time they should be let out of class, a phone number where you can be reached, and your signature (and relationship to student).  Your student will be handed their “Blue Slip” release at that time and they will be ready to go.

If you call and leave a voicemail, please be aware that you need to call at least 2 hours prior to the release time. Also, your student will need to come to the attendance office to pick up their “Blue Slip”. 

If you walk in to pick up your student, please be aware depending on your child’s schedule, you may have to wait for 30 minutes.  Students cannot be released from their PE class. 

It is the student's responsibility to make sure absences are cleared with teachers and with the Attendance Office. Absences must be cleared within five days. If not, they automatically become unexcused absences. Handwritten notes or a phone call from the parent or guardian are required to clear all absences. When a student returns to school after an absence, notes must be presented at the Attendance Office.

Parents will be notified of absences with our Autodialer System. The call is placed on the day of the absence.

Thank you for your support.



California Ed Code requires every child between the ages of 6 and 18 years to attend school every day. Studies show that student attendance increases student achievement.

Parents/guardians are responsible for their child’s school attendance and must notify the school if their child is not in school and why. Acceptable reasons for excused absences are listed below. Absences due to activities such as babysitting, accompanying parents on errands, and attending concerts or sporting events are unexcused. 

Absences from school for five or more days may be excused if a parent/guardian requests a contract for independent study at least one week prior to absence. The child must complete the contract within the set timeline. After any absence, parents are requested to provide absence verification to the school office when the student returns to school. No student shall have his/ her grade reduced or lose credit for an excused absence. A student with an excused absence will be allowed to complete all assignments and tests missed during the absence. Upon satisfactory completion of the assignment or test, within a reasonable period, the student will be given full credit. Tests and assignments will be reasonably equivalent to, but not necessarily identical to, the tests and assignments that the student missed during the absence.

Excused Absences - BP/AR 5113

A student will be excused from school when the absence is due to:

• Personal illness or injury

• Quarantine under the direction of a county or city health officer

• Having medical, dental, optometric or chiropractic services rendered

• Obtaining confidential medical services without the consent of the student’s parents or guardians (according to Title X law and regulations) • Attending the funeral service of an immediate family member; one day if the service is in California and three days if outside of California

• Jury duty in the manner provided for by law

• Illness or medical appointment during school of a child whose custodial parent is the student

• Spending time with an immediate family member who is an active-duty member of the uniformed services and who has been called to duty for, is on leave from, or has immediately returned from deployment to a combat zone or combat support position.

• Participation in the entertainment industry as noted under Education Code. Students with these work permits may be excused for a period of not more than five consecutive days, with a maximum of five absences per year.

Justifiable personal reasons include, but are not limited to, a court appearance, attendance at a funeral service, observance of a religious holiday or ceremony, attendance at a religious retreat, or attendance at an employment conference when the student’s absence has a written request from the parent and approval by the principal or a designated representative.

California law defines members of the “immediate family” as the mother, father, grandmother, grandfather, or spouse of the student, and son, daughter, brother, or sister of the student, or any relative living in the immediate household of the student.

Absence from School for Illness

Some students with recurrent or ongoing health problems can miss many days of school. When a student misses 10% or more of school days due to illness, school personnel may require parents/guardians to provide a doctor’s explanation of the health issues that keep the student from attending school. This communication helps school health personnel understand the underlying medical issue so they can explore how the student’s health and educational needs can be met. School health and educational personnel will work collaboratively with the student’s parent/ guardian and managing doctors to design a customized plan that meets the student’s health and educational needs.


Per California Ed Code, a pupil who is absent from school without a valid excuse three full days in one school year or tardy or absent for more than a 30-minute period during the school day without a valid excuse on three occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof, shall be classified as a truant. BP/AR 5113.1

Families may receive a Notification of Truancy Classification Letter from the school or district for any student who meets this definition of a truant. Support is available for students and families struggling with obstacles to regular attendance.

If truancy continues to be an issue despite efforts to intervene, a student may be deemed a habitual truant, and a Second Notification of Truancy (Habitual) Letter may be sent out. By this time, a meeting will be requested by a school counselor, or other school designee, with parent(s) or legal guardian(s) and the student to discuss the attendance issue and develop a plan to address it and improve attendance.

If truancy continues to be an issue, students may be referred to a truancy mediation or diversion program pursuant to California Ed Code.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.